Request Information

Subscribe to our newsletter

Welcome to The College of Ophthalmologists of Sri Lanka

The College of Ophthalmologists of Sri Lanka is the only professional body of ophthalmologists in the country. It is the direct continuation of the Ophthalmological Society of Sri Lanka founded in 1957. It was established in 1991 and the office of the College is presently functioning at the National Eye Hospital, Colombo, which is the centre of excellence and the main training centre for ophthalmic post graduate trainees, ophthalmic technologists and ophthalmic nurses.

The Ophthalmological Society of Ceylon was formed by a group of interested clinicians who met at Victoria Memorial Eye Hospital on 1 December 1957 and was the second oldest Specialist Association in the country. Dr. WHD Ferdinands was the Founder President.

Our Partners

Members of Council

Profesor Name

Dr. Nalin Rajakaruna

Profesor Name
Immediate Past President

Dr. M. Madhuwanthi Dissanayake

Profesor Name
President Elect 2019

Dr. Dilruwani Aryasingha


Clean your hands and your contact lenses properly.

To avoid the risk of infection, always wash your hands thoroughly before putting in or taking out your contact lenses. Make sure to disinfect contact lenses as instructed and replace them as appropriate.